Tact.

I’m currently waiting on a follow up doctors appointment as I realised that my depression is getting worse. It’s starting to affect my day to day functioning and, if I’m honest, I just need people to be nice to me.

This is where tact comes in to play. Tact is basically being able to be sensitive to other people. You wouldn’t ask a recently widowed person out on a date for example, doing so would be tactless. 

My dad knows that I am currently pretty sensitive and yet he still chose to bring up something he knew would upset me because ‘I needed to hear the truth’. 

Now as much as I probably did need to hear what he said his lack of awareness at the effect of what he said meat he inadvertently caused my mood to nose dive. 

I think the main point about this blog post is to establish that the people around you can have a massive effect on how well your recovery works. Even if you avoid all your triggers and everything is going brilliant, one throwaway comment can set back so much progress. 

To people living with others who have depression I urge you to keep in mind what you say to them. It may seem like you’re wrapping them in cotton wool, but it doesn’t hurt to be nice to people and bear in mind what they are going through. You can help so much by just being a nice human being who realises when they are being inappropriate. 

Okay I just want to take the time to direct everyone to the other places where you can find me. It would mean the world if you could check out my YouTube videos and subscribe to me or follow me on twitter or instagram to find out what I’m doing! 

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you’re having a good day ❤ 

Leave a comment